The Long Day Closes Solarmovie

The Long Day Closes (1992)


Set in Kensington, a working-class district of Liverpool, England in mid-1950s, this is the story of eleven-year-old Bud, a sad and lonely boy. With cinema as his main source of solace, he haunts the local 'picture-house'. All the while, his family looms large in our peripheral vision as do the menacing bullies of his school, but Bud is the centre of attention both from the camera's angle and from his doting family.

The Long Day Closes Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 7.3/10 from 36 votes
Release Date: 1992-05-22
Status: Released
Run time: 85 min / 1:25
Production Studio : Film Four International, British Film Institute, Channel Four Films
Production Country: United Kingdom


Leigh McCormack
as Bud
Marjorie Yates
as Mother
Anthony Watson
as Kevin
Nicholas Lamont
as John
Ayse Owens
as Helen
Tina Malone
as Edna
Jimmy Wilde
as Curly
Robin Polley
as Mr Nicholls
Peter Ivatts
as Mr Bushell
Joy Blakeman
as Frances
Denise Thomas
as Jean
Patricia Morison
as Amy
Gavin Mawdsley
as Billy
Kirk McLaughlin
as Labourer/Christ
Mark Heath
as Black Man
Victoria Davies
as Nun
Brenda Peters
as Nurse
Karl Skeggs
as Albie
Lee Blennerhassett
as 1st Bully
Peter Hollier
as 2nd Bully
Jason Jevons
as 3rd Bully


Camera Michael Coulter Director of Photography
Sound Adrian Rhodes Sound Mixer
Art Kave Quinn Art Direction
Art Tracey Gallacher Assistant Art Director
Production Lesley Stewart Production Coordinator
Directing David Gilchrist Third Assistant Director
Sound Alex Mackie Sound Editor
Art Karen Wakefield Property Buyer
Editing William Diver Editor
Sound Bob Last Music Supervisor
Production Olivia Stewart Producer
Production Dan Zeff Production Assistant
Directing Terence Davies Director
Writing Terence Davies Writer
Sound Aad Wirtz Sound Mixer
Art Christopher Hobbs Production Design
Production John Battsek Publicist
Production Ben Gibson Executive Producer
Production Doreen Jones Casting Director
Costume & Make-Up Monica Howe Costume Designer
Production Maureen McCue Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Marion Weise Wardrobe Assistant
Art Gordon Fitzgerald Property Master
Production Jeff Bowen Location Manager
Production Colin MacCabe Executive Producer
Sound Isobel Buchanan Vocals
Camera Chris Plevin Additional Photography
Camera Chris Plevin Focus Puller
Lighting Terry Edland Gaffer
Lighting Kevin Edland Electrician
Production Andrew MacDonald Brown Location Manager
Editing Catherine Creed First Assistant Editor
Costume & Make-Up Aileen Seaton Makeup & Hair
Camera Tom Hilton Still Photographer
Sound June Prinz Boom Operator
Costume & Make-Up Patrick Wheatley Wardrobe Supervisor
Directing Tommy Gormley Second Assistant Director
Camera Gary Romaine Grip
Art Geoff Stainthorp Standby Carpenter
Costume & Make-Up Heather Jones Makeup & Hair
Art Stewart Cunningham Dressing Prop
Sound Robert Lockhart Music Director
Art Piero Jamieson Standby Property Master
Camera Tristam Cones Camera Trainee
Art Jim Thompson Additional Construction
Production Angela Topping Executive In Charge Of Production
Production Chris Harvey Production Manager
Production Kate Mellor Production Secretary
Production Sheryl Leonardo Production Accountant
Production Susan Nicholson Production Accountant
Production Marianne Elliott Casting Assistant
Directing Gus Maclean First Assistant Director
Art Ben Johnson Runner Art Department
Directing James Norton Other
Production Maxine Howard Production Assistant
Crew Jim Atkins Transportation Coordinator
Camera Harriet Cox Camera Operator
Camera Jeremy Kelly Additional Photography
Camera Jeremy Kelly Clapper Loader
Directing Carol Thompson Continuity
Lighting David Harrison Rigging Supervisor
Camera Paul Collard Other
Camera Clive Neakes Other
Lighting Rick Butland Electrician
Lighting Dave Tyler Electrician
Lighting Dennis O'Connell Electrician
Art Pat Harkins Standby Property Master
Art Ben Pulsford Other
Crew Catherine Goodley Scenic Artist
Art John MacMillan Construction Manager
Art Robin Thistlethwaite Construction Manager
Art Mariana Russell Runner Art Department
Crew Stuart Wood Carpenter
Art Bill Meal Painter
Crew Dave Watson Vehicles Wrangler
Art Terry Thompson Additional Construction
Art Alan Hausmann Additional Construction
Art Alan Weeks Additional Construction
Art Ronnie Barlow Additional Construction
Art Albert Grassi Additional Construction
Art Peter Cheesman Additional Construction
Art Simon Clarkson Additional Construction
Art Charlie McMillan Additional Construction
Art Peter Seater Additional Construction
Art Hugh Doherty Additional Construction
Crew Kevin Rowe Other
Crew Jason Kent Other
Crew David Lewis Other
Crew Margaret Wicks Thanks
Sound Moya Burns Sound Recordist
Sound Patrick O'Neill Dialogue Editor
Editing Christine Campbell Assistant Editor
Camera Sarah Fitzgerald Other
Production Emma Chapman Publicist
Production Phil Symes Publicist
Sound Ruth Davies Vocals
Sound Gerard O'Beirne Vocals
Sound David Firman Conductor